Региональная модель атмосферного переноса MSCE-HM была разработана для оперативного моделирования трансграничного загрязнения тяжелыми металлами (ТМ) в регионе ЕМЕП для предоставления странам-участникам Конвенции о трансграничном загрязнении воздуха информации об атмосферном загрязнении окружающей среды тяжелыми металлами.

 

Применение модели

Модель MSCE-HM используется для следующих целей:

  • оценка атмосферного переноса и выпадений тяжелых металлов на региональном (ЕМЕП) и национальном (отдельные страны) масштабе
  • оценка трансграничного переноса тяжелых металлов
  • моделирование выпадений на экосистемы для оценки превышения критических нагрузок (в сотрудничестве с CCE)
  • расчет временных и пространственных трендов
  • прогноз будущих уровней загрязнения HM и их трендов при различных сценариях выбросов

 

Описание модели

Модель схемы поведения тяжелых
металлов в атмосфере

 

MSCE-HM является региональной трехмерной эйлеровой моделью атмосферного переноса тяжелых металлов, использующей предварительно рассчитанные метеорологические данные. В модель включены процессы выбросов тяжелых металлов в атмосферу от антропогенных и природных источников, атмосферного переноса, химических превращений (в случае ртути) в газовой и водной фазах, и выпадений на подстилающую поверхность (см. рисунок). Расчетная область модели определена в полярной стереографической проекции и охватывает регион ЕМЕП с пространственным разрешением 50×50 км на 60° с.ш. Для расчетов в масштабе отдельной страны применяется более высокое разрешение (например, 5×5 км, 10×10 км). Подробное описание модели можно найти в отчете [Travnikov and Ilyin, 2005].

Вертикальная структура модели представлена в сигма-системе координат, плавно огибающей поверхность земли. Область расчетов разбита на 15 неравномерных сигма-слоев и простирается до уровня 100 гПа.

Атмосферная адвекция и вертикальный перенос описаны в модели с использованием консервативной монотонной адвекционной схемы Ботта четвертого порядка [Bott, 1989a; 1989b, 1992]. Вертикальная турбулентная диффузия описывается неявным образом для того, чтобы избежать ограничений по шагу интеграции по времени из-за возможных резких градиентов смесевого отношения загрязняющих веществ.

Вертикальная структура модельной области.
Кривые показывают границы σ-слоев

 

Такие тяжелые металлы, как свинец и кадмий и их соединения характеризуются очень низкой летучестью. В модели предполагается, что эти металлы (а также некоторые другие - никель, хром, цинк и др.) переносятся в атмосфере только в составе аэрозольных частиц. Считается, что их возможные химические превращения не меняют свойств частиц-носителей в точки зрения процессов выведения. В отличие от этих металлов, преобразования ртути в атмосфере включают переходы между газовой, водной и твердой фазами и химические реакции в газовой и водной средах.

Процессы выведения, описанные в модели, включают сухие выпадения и влажное вымывание. Схема сухого выпадения основана на подходе, использующим аналогию с электрическими сопротивлениями, [Wesely and Hicks, 2000] и позволяет учитывать выпадения на различные типы экосистем (леса, луга, водные поверхности и т.д.). Скорость сухого выпадения частиц на растительность описывается с помощью теоретических положений, предложенных в работе Slinn [1982] и экспериментальных данных, полученных в работах [Ruijgrok et al., 1997; Wesely et al., 1985]. Параметризация сухого выпадения на водную поверхность основана на подходе, предложенном Уильямсом [Williams, 1982], учитывающим разрушение волн и вымывание аэрозоля морской пеной. Модель рассматривает отдельно облачное и подоблачное влажное вымывание частиц и хорошо растворимой реакционно способной газообразной ртути на основе эмпирических данных. Кроме того, интенсивность осадков масштабируется для конвективных осадков в соответствии с подходом, предложенным Walton et al. [1988], для того чтобы учесть то, что конвективные облака охватывают только часть ячейки модели.

Важным процессом, влияющим на концентрации и выпадения тяжелых металлов (таких как свинец и кадмий), связанных с аэрозольными частицами, является ветровой подъем частиц с поверхности почв и морской воды. Этот процесс заслуживает особого внимания в районах с низким уровнем антропогенных выбросов.
 
Первая версия параметризации ветрового подъема тяжелых металлов, включенная в модель MSCE-HM, описана в работах [Gusev et al., 2005; Ilyin et al., 2007]. Эта параметризация основана на подходах, широко применяемых в современных моделях образования минеральной пыли [например, Gomes et al., 2003; Zender et al., 2003]. В частности, ветровой подъем пылевых частиц из почвы рассматривается как сочетание двух основных процессов - сальтации и сандбластинга (sandblasting), представляющих собой горизонтальное перемещение крупных агрегатов почвы, обусловленное давлением ветра и выброса мелких частиц пыли, соответственно. Подъем пыли рассчитывается для поверхностей, лишенных растительности (пустыни и голая почва, сельскохозяйственные почвы в период культивации, городские территории). Помимо этого, на основе эмпирической параметризации, предложенной Gong-Monahan [Gong, 2003], рассматривается образование морской соли и ветрового подъема тяжелых металлов с морской поверхности.

 

Тестирование модели

Тестирование модели включает в себя сравнение рассчитанных концентраций и выпадений с результатами измерений, исследования чувствительности и сравнение результатов моделирования с результатами, полученными другими региональными моделями переноса (так называемые imtercomparison study). Сопоставление результатов моделирования с данными измерений проводится каждый год. Описание его результатов приводится в ежегодных отчетах. Изучение чувствительности модели и оценки неопределенностей рассчитанных выпадений и концентраций описаны в техническом отчете [Travnikov and Ilyin, 2005]. Подробная информация по результатам сравнения моделей доступна в технических отчетах и в научных статьях. Модель MSCE-HM была рассмотрена на Целевой группе ЕМЕП по измерениям и моделированию, заседание которой состоялось в Москве в октябре 2005 года. На семинаре был сделан вывод, что модель может использоваться для оценки трансграничного переноса на большие расстояния и выпадения тяжелых металлов в Европе (ECE/EB.AIR/GE.1/2006/4).

 

Дальнейшее развитие модели

Наряду с региональной моделью MSCE-HM в настоящий момент идет разработка единого подхода к моделированию атмосферного переноса тяжелых металлов на разных пространственных масштабах. Для оценки загрязнения ТМ в различных масштабах - глобальном, региональном и местном - разрабатывается глобальная многосредная система моделирования ЕМЕП (Global EMEP Multi-media Modelling System (GLEMOS)). Предполагается, что в ближайшем будущем модель GLEMOS заменит модель MSCE-HM.

 

Литература

Bott A. [1989a] A positive definite advection scheme obtained by nonlinear renormalization of the advective fluxes. Mon. Wea. Rev. 117, 1006-1015.

Bott A. [1989b] Reply to comment on “A positive definite advection scheme obtained by nonlinear renormalization of the advective fluxes.” Mon. Wea. Rev. 117, 2633-2636.

Bott A. [1992] Monotone flux limitation in the area-preserving flux-form advection algorithm. Mon. Wea. Rev. 120, 2592-2602.

Gomes L., Rajot J.L., Alfaro S.C. and A.Gaudichet [2003] Validation of a dust production model from measurements performed in semi-arid agricultural areas of Spain and Niger. Catena, vol. 52, pp.257–271.

A. Gusev, O.Rozovskaya, V. Shatalov Modelling POP long-range transport and contamination levels by MSCE-POP model. EMEP/MSC-E Technical Report 1/2007

Ilyin I., Rozovskaya O., Sokovykh V., and Travnikov O. [2007] Atmospheric modelling of heavy metal pollution in Europe: Further development and evaluation of the MSCE-HM model. EMEP/MSC-E Technical Report 2/2007., 52 p.

Ruijgrok W., Tieben H., Eisinga P. [1997] The dry deposition of particles to a forest canopy: A comparison of model and experimental results. Atmos. Environ. 31, 399-415

Slinn W.G.N. [1982] Predictions for particle deposition to vegetative canopies. Atmos. Environ. 16, 1785-1794.

Travnikov O. and I.Ilyin [2005] Regional Model MSCE-HM of Heavy Metal Transboundary Air Pollution in Europe. EMEP/MSC-E Technical Report 6/2005, p.59.

Williams R.M. [1982] A model for the dry deposition of particles to natural water surfaces. Atmos. Environ. 16, 1933-1938.

Wesely M.L. and Hicks B.B. [2000] A review of the current status of knowledge on dry deposition. Atmos. Environ. 34, 2261-2282.

Walton J.J., MacCracken M.C. and Ghan S.J. [1988] A global-scale Lagrangian trace species model of transport, transformation, and removal processes. J. Geophys. Res. 93(D7), 8339-8354.

 

Наверх

The European-scale atmospheric transport model MSCE-HM was developed for operational modelling of heavy metal (HM) transboundary pollution within the EMEP region in order to provide countries-participants of the Convention on Long-range Transboundary Air Pollution with information on atmospheric heavy metal pollution.

 

Model application

MSCE-HM model is used for the following purposes:

  • evaluation of atmospheric transport and deposition of HMs on regional (EMEP) and national (individual countries) scale
  • evaluation of transboundary transport of HMs
  • modeling of ecosystem-dependent depositions for evaluation of critical load exceedances (in cooperation with CCE)
  • assessment of temporal and spatial trends
  • projection of future levels of HM contamination and trends under various emission scenarios

 

Model description

The model scheme of heavy metal behaviour
in the atmosphere

 

The EMEP/MSC-E regional model of heavy metals airborne pollution (MSCE-HM) is a three-dimensional Eulerian-type chemical transport model driven by off-line meteorological data. The model considers heavy metal emissions from anthropogenic and natural sources, transport in the atmosphere, chemical transformations (of mercury only) both in gaseous and aqueous phases, and deposition to the surface (see figure below). The model computation domain is defined on the polar stereographic projection and covers the standard EMEP region by a regular grid with 50—50 km spatial resolution at 60°N. For national-scale applications finer resolution is used (e.g., 5—5, 10—10 km). Detailed description of the model is available in [Travnikov and Ilyin, 2005].

The vertical structure of the model is formulated in the sigma-pressure coordinate system. The model domain consists of 15 irregular sigma-layers and has a top at 100 hPa.

The atmospheric advection and the vertical transport are described in the model using mass conservative and monotone Bott`s advection scheme [Bott, 1989a; 1989b, 1992]. An implicit treatment of the vertical eddy diffusion is chosen in order to avoid restrictions on the integration time step because of possible sharp gradients of the pollutant mixing ratio.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Vertical grid structure of the model domain. 
The curves show boundaries of σ-layers

 

Such heavy metals as lead and cadmium and their compounds are characterized by very low volatility. It is assumed in the model that these metals (as well as some others (nickel, chromium, zinc etc.) are transported in the atmosphere only in the composition of aerosol particles. It is believed that their possible chemical transformations do not change properties of their carrying particles with regard to removal processes. On the contrary, mercury transformations in the atmosphere include transitions between the gaseous, aqueous and solid phases, chemical reactions in the gaseous and aqueous environment.

Model description of removal processes includes dry deposition and wet scavenging. The dry deposition scheme is based on the resistance analogy approach [Wesely and Hicks, 2000] and allows taking into account deposition to different land cover types (forests, grassland, water surface etc.). Dry deposition of particles to vegetation is described using the theoretical formulation by Slinn [1982] and fitted to experimental data [Ruijgrok et al., 1997; Wesely et al., 1985]. The parameterization of dry deposition to water surfaces is based on the approach suggested by Williams [1982] taking into account the effects of wave breaking and aerosol washout by seawater spray. The model distinguishes in-cloud and sub-cloud wet scavenging of particulate species and highly soluble reactive gaseous mercury based on empirical data. Besides, the precipitation rate is scaled for convective precipitation according to Walton et al. [1988] to take into account fractional coverage of a grid cell with precipitating clouds.

Wind re-suspension of particle-bound heavy metals (like lead and cadmium) from soil and seawater appears to be important process affecting ambient concentration and deposition of these pollutants, particularly, in areas with low direct anthropogenic emissions. Pilot parameterization of heavy metal wind re-suspension was included into the MSCE-HM model [Gusev et al., 2005; Ilyin et al., 2007]. The parameterization is based on approaches widely applied in contemporary mineral dust production models [e.g. Gomes et al., 2003; Zender et al., 2003]. Particularly, suspension of dust aerosol from soil is considered as combination of two major processes saltation and sandblasting presenting horizontal movement of large soil aggregates driven by wind stress and ejection of fine dust particles, respectively. The dust suspension is estimated for non-vegetated surfaces (deserts and bare soils, agricultural soils during the cultivation period, and urban areas). Generation of sea-salt and wind suspension of heavy metals from the sea surface is also considered based on the empirical Gong-Monahan parameterization [Gong, 2003].

 

Model evaluation

Model evaluation includes comparison of modelled concentrations and deposition with measurements, sensitivity studies and comparison of modelling results with the results obtained by other regional-scale transport models (so-called imtercomparison studies). Evaluation of modelling results against measurements is carried out every year, and is described in annual reports. Examination of model sensitivity and estimation of model-related uncertainties of calculated deposition and concentrations is described in MSC-E technical report [Travnikov and Ilyin, 2005]. Detailed information on the model intercomparison studies is available in technical reports and in peer-reviewed papers. MSCE-HM model has been reviewed at the EMEP/TFMM Workshop held in Moscow in October 2005. The Workshop concluded that the MSCE-HM model is suitable for the evaluation of the long-range transboundary transport and depositions of heavy metals in Europe (ECE/EB.AIR/GE.1/2006/4).

 

Further development

Along with MSCE-HM model there is ongoing development of the global multiscale modelling approach for heavy metals at MSC-E. The Global EMEP Multi-media Modelling System (GLEMOS) is being developed to evaluate HM pollution at different scales: global, regional, and local. The GLEMOS model is intended to substitute the MSCE-HM model in near future.

 

References

Bott A. [1989a] A positive definite advection scheme obtained by nonlinear renormalization of the advective fluxes. Mon. Wea. Rev. 117, 1006-1015. 

Bott A. [1989b] Reply to comment on “A positive definite advection scheme obtained by nonlinear renormalization of the advective fluxes. Mon. Wea. Rev. 117, 2633-2636.

Bott A. [1992] Monotone flux limitation in the area-preserving flux-form advection algorithm. Mon. Wea. Rev. 120, 2592-2602.

Gomes L., Rajot J.L., Alfaro S.C. and A.Gaudichet [2003] Validation of a dust production model from measurements performed in semi-arid agricultural areas of Spain and Niger. Catena, vol. 52, pp.257-271.

Gusev A., O.Rozovskaya, V. Shatalov Modelling POP long-range transport and contamination levels by MSCE-POP model. EMEP/MSC-E Technical Report 1/2007.

Ilyin I., Rozovskaya O., Sokovykh V., and Travnikov O. [2007] Atmospheric modelling of heavy metal pollution in Europe: Further development and evaluation of the MSCE-HM model. EMEP/MSC-E Technical Report 2/2007, 52 p.

Ruijgrok W., Tieben H., Eisinga P. [1997] The dry deposition of particles to a forest canopy: A comparison of model and experimental results. Atmos. Environ. 31, 399-415.

Slinn W.G.N. [1982] Predictions for particle deposition to vegetative canopies. Atmos. Environ. 16, 1785-1794.

Travnikov O. and I.Ilyin [2005] Regional Model MSCE-HM of Heavy Metal Transboundary Air Pollution in Europe. EMEP/MSC-E Technical Report 6/2005, p.59.

Williams R.M. [1982] A model for the dry deposition of particles to natural water surfaces. Atmos. Environ. 16, 1933-1938.

Wesely M.L. and Hicks B.B. [2000] A review of the current status of knowledge on dry deposition. Atmos. Environ. 34, 2261-2282.

Walton J.J., MacCracken M.C. and Ghan S.J. [1988] A global-scale Lagrangian trace species model of transport, transformation, and removal processesJ. Geophys. Res. 93(D7), 8339-8354.

 

 

Go to top